The Good, The Bad and The Ugly

Hello Photo Club Members!  Unfortunately we have a whole week to wait for our next meeting but the good news is we have a perfectly rainy Saturday to pick out our pictures that we want to talk about next week.  I have already picked out mine and I will post them up as an example.  Feel free to post yours up too in the comment section so we can get a good look at the before hand.  Remember just pick one photo you really like or something you aspire too, one picture you like but wish there was something different about it, and one picture that for some reason just irks you.  I found the last one to be the hardest because there are so many great pictures on Flickr that I just finally had to make a  decision.  You don’t have to get your pictures from Flickr but it might be easier when we get together if we can just find them in your favorites.

The Good
I like this photo for obvious reasons, its just beautiful. The thing is the photographer still had to work to get this effect. The ISO is set low at 50 which means a lot of life is required to get the right exposure and the camera is set at f-13 with a 30 sec exposure. Even still, with that long of an exposure the day was highly overcast allowing very little light. The combination creates a great background effect. The two subjects are also perfectly placed. The tree in the background along with the horizon follows the 1/3 rule where fits exactly a third of the way down the picture. Any other placement would have made the subject look awkward or unnatural. Don’t know why this is but its a great rule! The log in front also is placed a third of the way up the picture giving the picture a nice even flow. The colors also work well with the dark brown in front with the beach leading up to the lit horizon and then back to the dark overcast day. The tree in the background helps break this flow by adding contrast and a break to the flow making it the real subject of the photo and the first subject your eyes are drawn too.

The Bad
This photo is not really bad in the least, in fact I think its really great. The problem I have with this photo is the focus point. All focus is set in the center where the background and the subject are in focus but the outside edges of the photo are completely out of focus. The main subject is the mans face but even this is not fully in focus and makes me think that this blur was created with a quick post processing job. With a little more work, the complete background could have been made to be out of focus while the subject can remain completely in focus. This would have also followed the 1/3 rule since the focus point is now not in the center and the eye is not immediately drawn away from the subject.

The Ugly
This picture just bugs me. The main subject are the smokers in the background while everything else is completely out of focus. I have tried taking pictures like this where there are closer subjects out of focus then the main focus and each time I have found it is very difficult to create a picture that is worth it. This one certainly doesn’t cut it for me. The subjects are almost completely hidden by the waiters tray but worse then that they are broken up so the two things in focus are the knees and the faces. If the waiters tray wasn’t there then the picture may have been better or even if the subject was the waiter. Either way, this is a really difficult to achieve a great photo in these conditions and if it does happen it would be entirely by chance.

Alright, thats it for me. There are some other great photos I picked out in my favorites section of my flickr account so check those out too if you like. Can’t wait to see you all next week.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by F R Martin. Bookmark the permalink.

About F R Martin

I like to relatively free in my writing and often try to write from a perspective of a character that fascinates me. I am starting this page as a place to create, share, and workshop but mostly as a ventilation for my writing that often gets shadowed in the drudging reality of the everyday world.

One thought on “The Good, The Bad and The Ugly

  1. the good, or should I say the Absolutely-Fantastic!! ๐Ÿ™‚ my thoughts on this photo might be painfully detailed, haha! I apologize ahead of time ~http://www.flickr.com/photos/41998324@N08/5618245687/in/photostream/
    I love the lines in this photograph; every. single. line. (It may sound silly, but I feel like my eyes go on a journey every time I look at this) I like the way the pillars fade from light to shadow creating defined vertical lines that draw my eyes down to the horizontal lines of the pillar bases and give way to horizontal shadows that melt into the horizontal lines in the floor. Then the diagonal line of the pillar bases drags my attention to the horizontal lines in the wall that my eyes can’t help but climb; when I reach the top I float across the pillars as they get wider and wider until my eyes reach the last dark pillar and I can’t help but drop my focus to the bottom of the bicycle tire, where it meets the floor. From there, where the spokes meet the rim, following the dark line of the tire my eyes have something else to climb; I am visually deposited in the same place I started ๐Ÿ™‚ haha, I told you, silly. I feel very comfortable with this photograph because it is has structure and organization, but at the same time the bicycle tire gives it an element of surprise, excitement or even chaos.

    the bad ~http://www.flickr.com/photos/70821993@N00/5649761598/
    I think this photograph could be more interesting than it is; to keep my reasoning short and sweet (because I sort of ran with the first one), the background is too busy in my opinion and I would have shot it in B&W, I am interested in what seems to be coming out of the little door though.

    the ugly ~http://www.flickr.com/photos/i2uthanne/5649193793/in/photostream/
    I really don’t like this picture; it looks like someone took a camera and just for the hell of it pointed it up and snapped a very over-exposed blob of sky. You can see what I would guess is a rooftop, maybe some power lines and a few branches of a tree. I don’t like it and I feel like I’m wasting my time looking for what maybe I’m supposed to be seeing.

Leave a Reply

